Bookshelf
| can't find it |

| browse books |
books
 

| book details |

Winter Is Coming: Why Vladimir Putin and the Enemies of the Free World Must Be Stopped

By (author) Garry Kasparov

| on special |

normal price: R 315.95

Price: R 289.95


| book description |

For readers of Putin's People by Catherine Belton comes the stunning story of Russia's slide back into a dictatorship led by Vladimir Putin - and how the world is now paying the price. 'Brave, trenchant and convincing' Sunday Times 'Ferocious and unforgiving' Financial Times The ascension of Vladimir Putin - a former lieutenant colonel of the KGB - to the presidency of Russia in 1999 was a strong signal that the country was headed away from democracy. Yet in the intervening years - as America and the world's other leading powers have continued to appease him - Putin has grown not only into a dictator but an international threat. With his vast resources and nuclear arsenal, Putin is at the centre of a worldwide assault on political liberty and the modern world order. For Garry Kasparov, none of this is news. He has been a vocal critic of Putin for over a decade, even leading the pro-democracy opposition to him in the farcical 2008 presidential election. Yet years of seeing his Cassandra-like prophecies about Putin's intentions fulfilled have left Kasparov with a darker truth: Putin's Russia, like ISIS or Al Qaeda, defines itself in opposition to the free countries of the world. As Putin has grown ever more powerful, the threat he poses has grown from local to regional and finally to global. In this urgent book, Kasparov shows that the collapse of the Soviet Union was not an endpoint - only a change of seasons, as the Cold War melted into a new spring. But now, after years of complacency and poor judgement, winter is once again upon us. Argued with the force of Kasparov's world-class intelligence, conviction and hopes for his home country, Winter Is Coming reveals Putin for what he is: an existential danger hiding in plain sight.

| product details |



Normally shipped | Stock is usually dispatched in 6-12 days from date of order
Publisher | Atlantic Books
Published date | 3 Mar 2016
Language |
Format | Paperback / softback
Pages | 320
Dimensions | 199 x 130 x 24mm (L x W x H)
Weight | 300g
ISBN | 978-1-7823-9789-2
Readership Age |
BISAC | political science / general


| other options |



Normally shipped | Available from overseas. Usually dispatched in 14 days
Readership Age |
Normal Price | R 373.95
Price | R 343.95 | on special |



| your trolley |

To view the items in your trolley please sign in.

| sign in |

| specials |

Glucose Revolution: The life-changing power of balancing your blood sugar

Jessie Inchauspe
Paperback / softback
320 pages
was: R 355.95
now: R 301.95
Available from overseas. Dispatched in aprox 4-8 weeks as local supplier is out of stock

This book will explain why glucose is the key to almost every aspect of our health, from our weight to our mood, and how to keep our glucose levels steady in order to feel amazing.

Rest in Pieces: The Curious Fates of Famous Corpses

Bess Lovejoy
Paperback / softback
384 pages
was: R 287.95
now: R 252.95
Usually dispatched in 3 to 6 weeks as supplier is out of stock

A marvellously macabre look at how some of the world's favourite historical figures got even more interesting past their expiration dates with their corpses in part or in whole going on hilarious and horrifying adventures!

Boy Parts

Eliza Clark
Paperback / softback

was: R 287.95
now: R 252.95
Available from overseas. Usually dispatched in 14 days

BOY PARTS is the incendiary debut novel from Eliza Clark, a pitch-black comedy both shocking and hilarious, fearlessly exploring the taboo regions of sexuality and gender roles in the twenty-first century.